Ode to Mom

I have been waiting to post this entry, but I can’t wait anymore.
The reason I have been waiting is because I took some pictures of Mom’s “oopsie”. . .but I have been so busy that I haven’t had the chance upload those pictures.

Anyway. We were at my parents’ house a week ago today (last Thursday), to hang out with my parents because my Mom had just come home from the Food Network Challenge taping and I wanted to hear about it and because they left on a cruise the next day and by the time they get back we will already be in VA. Anyway. . .Mom and I were in her van, pulling out of the driveway, to go pick up some pictures at Walgreens, and instead of backing out straight (like any normal person) she backed out at a diagonal and ran RIGHT into my car. She took the whole driver’s side mirror off (well, it is hanging by three wires) and put a few scratches on the side. It sounded 100% worse than it ended up being. Then we just laughed about it the rest of the night. When we were leaving, she said, “Take your wrecked car and go home.” ha

I haven’t been able to drive it much since then, because like I said, the mirror is just hanging there by a few wires. I had somewhere I needed to be on Saturday and couldn’t go because of it. Every time a gust of wind comes through or I hit a huge bump, it flies around and it just isn’t safe. I would hate to have the mirror fly off and fly into someone else’s windshield. That would NOT be pretty!

Needless to say, my car will be getting worked on while we’re in VA, because that isn’t the only issue it is having. The windshield wipers are all messed up (thanks to the freezing rain the other day) and when you turn on my air my headlights go off. (That makes me laugh, just hearing that, because it is just so ridiculous!)

The crazy thing is, EVERY other time we go somewhere (especially Highland) we drive Ric’s car. So I’m SO GLAD that we didn’t that time. Mainly because I really don’t care about my car. (Sorry Mr. Prix). 🙂

Anyway – I would also like to present to you the Food Network Challenge pictures. . .

You can see the progress as we go along.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Hard at work.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I think her face looks pretty amazing!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Before her hand was put on.
Photobucket

Photobucket

The final product.
Photobucket

Photobucket

At the bottom, the round base turned, so that you could see all the dwarfs.
Photobucket

Snow White
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Before they announced the winner. You can tell Ashley looks a little nervous! (I would have been too!!)
Photobucket

Photobucket

The “main chefs” and their assistants.
Photobucket

Mom and the Judges.
Photobucket

My bro and Mom.
Photobucket

My cousins and aunt, with their “Go Aunt Pat/Go Patty” shirts on.
Photobucket

The winning cake. (By [LESS THAN] one point.)
Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m pretty sure this is where that [less than] one winning point came from.
Blow sugar that looks like glass.
Photobucket

The back.
Photobucket

Sleeping Beauty Cake. (3rd place)
Photobucket

Photobucket

Mary Poppins
Photobucket

Photobucket

The air date is March 8th. (It’s a Sunday.)
We’re having an “watching party” at my Mom’s. I can’t wait. . .it is going to be fun! 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beckie
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 12:50:30

    Her cake is awesome! I can’t wait to see the Challenge!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 13:08:51

    That cake is incredible! I cannot believe the detail. Congrats again to your mom!

    Reply

  3. Coree
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:15:54

    Wow! What awesome cakes. I still think your mom’s team should have won! I cant’ wait to watch it!

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 21:30:55

    Ok, all the cakes look great, but your mom’s should have definitely been 1st!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

