At this VERY second. . .

As most of you who are reading this know, my Mom is the owner of Patty Cakes in Highland, IL.
As I’m typing this, she is in Denver, CO on the set of the Food Network filming her very first “cake challenge.”

She is with her friend/another cake guru, Ashley, who is the “main chef.” Mom is the “assistant” (this time – if there is a next time (hopefully), she will be the main chef).

She flew out to Denver Sunday. I talked to her yesterday and she says that she and all the cakes made it there safely, no tragedies, and all the cakes made it in ONE piece. Mission accomplished!!! Yes, you read that correctly, she had to fly to Denver WITH the cakes already baked. They were left in the pan and some hard material was placed over the open area and they were saran wrapped (REALLY tight if I know my Mom well). I’m sure those airline people at Lambert thought she was NUTS!!! (Yes, of course she had to pay a LOT extra for the luggage because of the weight limit. . HOPEFULLY she was even able to pack some clothes to wear! ha).

This challenge is titled – Disney Classics.
As of right now, we do not have an air date. It is expected to be sometime in April, 2009 when the Disney Classics DVD Set is released.

This is a dream for people in this business. It is definitely not “all about the money.” The air time and such will be enough for her. And, HOPEFULLY she will be asked to come back to do one as the “main chef.”

My family who lives in Colorado – my brother, Uncle John (Mom’s brother), Aunt Karen, Joseph and Cheyenne (cousins) – all trekked to Denver last night (they live in a small town in CO 4 hours away). They’re all there in tow with their “Go Mom/Sis/Aunt Pat” t-shirts on.

When I talked to her yesterday I got a little sad and teary-eyed, because I can’t be there, because I KNOW if I were to ever accomplish something THIS big, she would be there for me. But work did not allow me to travel there. 😦

I’ll share pictures and stories as soon as they are sent my way. . .come back later tonight to hear how it went! 🙂

.
.
.
.
.
.

Oh, and. . .

GO MOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 11:01:19

    I can’t wait to hear about it!

    Reply

  2. Melissa Bushey
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 11:38:33

    That’s so exciting! You will definetly have to let us know when it is going to air. And until then we will need pictures!

    Go MOM!

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 12:22:00

    I cannot wait to see the episode! I just hope that she isn’t going against Bronwen Weber. That lady always wins.

    Good luck to your mom!! 😀

    Reply

  4. Coree
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 12:26:53

    Oh wow, that’s awesome! Please keep us updated on the air time. I love watching those shows.

    Reply

  5. Cecilia
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 13:54:00

    How cool is that!!! I love watching the show!! I hope they do well.

    Reply

  6. maggie
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 15:39:02

    Man, I LOVE those shows! I’ll be rooting for her!!!

    Reply

  7. Carmina
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 22:08:59

    YAY, how cool! I can’t wait to watch it! I love the Food Network challenges! Good luck to your mom!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

