Twelve Days

No, not the Twelve (12) Days of Christmas.
Twelve days until we leave for Virginia.

This year we’re going a little earlier than usual. That might be helpful, considering all the luggage rules the airlines have now. We might wait to do a little bit of the Christmas shopping for when we get there. Mom S. was thinking too, she already had one of our large presents shipped to our apartment, one less thing we have to carry on the airplane. (Thanks Mom S.!!!)

The reason I’m here writing about it, is because I have been getting SUPER excited about going. I’m definitely NOT getting super excited about leaving work. . .well, I am, but I’m not. (Seems like bad things happen to people who leave for vacations here; whether they get fired or just get written up when they get back.) Certainly makes me REALLY nervous. . .but I gotta do what I gotta do. Thankfully I’m really only missing three days, since the 24th and 25th are paid vacation days for the whole office.

Anyway. . .back to reminicsing about VA 2006. (I didn’t go in 2007, as I had JUST started this new job.)

I LOVE going to see the National Christmas Tree and all the National Monuments and such. These pictures were taken with my Rebel. . .pre-Canon 5D days. I can’t wait to go this year and get some amazing photos!!!

VA/D.C. 2006

This is what I like to call “the big tall thingy” because I always forget the “real name.” Ric has to remind me every time. . .DUH Trish!
Photobucket

Photobucket

You can see the President’s helicopter to the right.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The flags all around it.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were joking that this was the “miniature big tall thingy.”
Photobucket

Photobucket

With it’s own little “reflecting pool.” ha
Photobucket

I was a little “scared” when these flew over us that year. Though it was quite a sight to see. I hear the President was in one of them. What an awesome experience!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

You can see some of the comotion in front of the White House in this picture.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ll just tell you that the first time I went to VA/D.C. for Christmas, I was SUPER excited to go see the National Christmas Tree. Boy was I disappointed when I got there. It has to be THE ugliest tree I have ever seen. haha (I don’t know what I was expecting really.) But, that is okay. It is still awesome.
Photobucket

Photobucket

All around the National Christmas Tree there are smaller trees for each state. The ornaments on those trees are made/donated by children in those states.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Train that goes around it. (I used to work for a firm that defended Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad – BNSF.)
Photobucket

The White House
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Heading over to the Lincoln Memorial (at least I remember the name of that one).
He is a relative after all!!! (My great great great great (etc.) Aunt was Mary Todd Lincoln).
Ducks in the real Reflecting Pool.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Ric in his awesome “biker jacket”. πŸ˜‰
Photobucket

Sunset
Photobucket

“Big Tall Thingy” reflecting in the Reflecting Pool at sunset. How awesome!
(Okay. . .just to clear things up, I DO know the real name of that thing. . .it’s the Washington Monument. . .DUH!)
Photobucket

Photobucket

There is Good Ol’ Uncle Abe!
Photobucket

Photobucket

This group stopped Ric and asked him to take a picture, so I took a picture of him taking a picture. Mainly because usually when someone stops him to take a picture and I’m around, he will say “She’ll do it, she’s the professional.” ha
Photobucket

Tourist in his “biker jacket”.
Photobucket

Closer to Uncle Abe now.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Let me just tell you that there were a LOT of people that obviously did NOT read this sign!
Photobucket

A picture with Uncle Abe.
Photobucket

From Uncle Abe’s point of view.
Photobucket

Photobucket

It was starting to get dark, but that doesn’t stop us from seeing more. No matter how many times I have seen all these monuments and all this history; I never get tired of seeing it.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I think I was a little obsessed with taking picture of it that year.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Back to the tree and the White House after it got dark.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The very large fire that everyone huddles around to keep warm.
Photobucket

Here are a few pictures from one night at dinner with Mom S.
I love this picture of her and Ric, it is such a good one!
Photobucket

Photobucket

One day while we were out there in 2006 we went to the National Zoo. It was a little chilly, but SO worth it (we love going to Zoos). πŸ™‚ I was obsessed with the Tigers that day. Especially the Mama and baby that were running around playing!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I think this is the Daddy.
Photobucket

Pretty lion.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I loved this little guy too. . .he was too cute!
Photobucket

Photobucket

More monkeys and gorillas.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This thing had some BIG ears.
Photobucket

We were standing there watching this big guy scratch his back with this stick. It was quite intertaining.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And, Ric’s favorite. . .and something I wish we had at OUR Zoo.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This picture is priceless. It makes me giggle every time I see it!!!
Photobucket

Ric with some bamboo.
Photobucket

Other Misc.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

These are also called Pandas. . .Red Pandas. (If I remember correctly.)
Photobucket

One of my favorite things we do while we are there is the . . .
“Ssssssseelen Ssssssseafood Sssssssssleepover”
It is such a FUN night!!!!
We go to the Fisherman’s Wharf to pick up our Sssssseafood.
Photobucket

Fishheads, fishheads, rolly polly fishheads. . .fishheads, fishheads, eat ’em up, YUM!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we go back to Amanda’s to cook the Ssssssssseafood, have some drinks, watch movies, chat and have a good ol’ time. Sometimes we end up Ssssssssleeping over and sometimes we end up going back to Mom and Dad S.’s house.
We usually have calamari, crab legs, peel & eat shrimp and whatever else.
We always eat too much (at least I do), and sometimes they drink too much, and SOMETIMES there are even dancing crab legs that make their appearance! πŸ˜‰
Calamari ingredients.
Photobucket

Ric the cook.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Ric’s pretending to be sleepy like them. ha
Photobucket

Uh oh. . .here comes Timmy. (2006 was the first year that Emily wasn’t there.)
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Another one of my favorite VA/D.C. visit traditions is Cheeseburger in Paradise. My FAVORITE restaurant out there! This is one of the rare times that I actually order myself an alcoholic beverage. Aren’t they SO cute!
Photobucket

I alternate between when I go depending on what year it is.
2000-2003 I went on the 24th with Ric. 2004 was the first year that I stayed back to do Christmas with my family and left on the 25th instead. 2005 was our first Christmas together as a married couple, which worked out good, since it was my year to go on the 24th with Ric. 2006 I went on Christmas Day again. 2007 I didn’t even get to go AT ALL because of the new job, which is why I’m SOO excited about this year, because I haven’t been since the year I just wrote about. . .2006.

Christmas traditions that differ between the Jacobys and Seelens.
J: Main Christmas with the family is on the 24th in the afternoon, then to Grandma’s in the evening. Christmas Day with Mom for her b-day and then to Mom’s biological family’s houses. Though, now that Ric is in the family, and him going to VA on the 24th every year, we have moved Christmas with immediately family to the 23rd. (Except for 2008 – this year we’re having Christmas on the 28th).
S: Midnight Mass on the 24th and on the 25th Christmas bright and early in the morning with PJs on. Movie theatre in the evening.

I’m looking forward to Midnight Mass with my hubby and in-laws, and Christmas bright and early in the morning on the 25th, in our PJs. Oh, and DEFINITELY looking forward to some “monkey bread.” MMMM, MMM GOOD!!! And this year we’ll be spending Christmas with Ric’s grandma and grandpa who now live in VA as well. YAY!

It’s the MOST wonderful time of the year!!!!!!!

Oh heck. . .why not reminicse about 2005 while we’re here too.
2005 was our first Christmas together as a married couple. We both went out to VA on the 24th. 24th is Midnight Mass. Here is a picture in the parking lot before going in.
Photobucket

This is Christmas Day. We always get dressed up and have a picture in front of the Christmas Tree as a family. I was included this time because I’m not just “the girlfriend.” I’m a SEELEN now! πŸ˜‰
Just the kids.
Photobucket

The whole family.
Photobucket

Ric and I.
Photobucket

The next day, on the way to the Fisherman’s Wharf, we stopped by The Awakening statue.
The Awakening is a 100-foot statue of a giant embedded in the earth, struggling to free himself. It was created by J. Seward Johnson, Jr. and originally installed at Hains Point (East Potomac Park), Washington, D.C. in 1980. In 2007, the National Park Service announced that the sculpture would be moved to the National Harbor in Prince George’s County, Maryland, just outside the District of Columbia, after the artist, Johnson, sold the statue for $750,000. The sculpture was excavated and removed from Hains Point on February 20, 2008, and is now installed at National Harbor.

If you google “The Awakening Statue”, there are pictures of it being transported on a semi-truck. Looks funny!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

At the Fisherman’s Wharf
Photobucket

Ric having some oysters.
Photobucket

Blue crab.
Photobucket

This does NOT look tasty!!!
Photobucket

Back at Amanda’s for Ssssseelen Ssssssseafood Sssssssleepover.
Photobucket

The guys having a cigar. Ric’s Dad, Ric and Frank (Emily’s b/f).
Photobucket

Ric, you look so pretty!
Photobucket

This was not the first year that there was an appearance from the dancing crab legs. That was the year before (Ric’s Mom started that tradition. ha).
Photobucket

The next day we went to the National Spy Museum. It was pretty interesting, but you weren’t allowed to take pictures inside. (That may constitute you as being a “spy” I guess. ha)
Photobucket

Later that night at the bar/restaurant for some Chili, pool and darts.
Amanda is so talented!
Photobucket

Mom S. was laughing at me because I SUCK. ha
Photobucket

Mom S. got a bullseye.
Photobucket

Timmy and I.
Photobucket

The next day was the day that Ric and I went to Downtown D.C. We usually go on our own when the rest of the VAians are at work. . .at least I won’t annoy them with the 24384861 pictures I taken then! πŸ˜‰ 2005 was the first year for the World War II Memorial. It was new to everyone that year.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

There’s that “big tall thingy” again.
Photobucket

More commotion at the White House that day. I think we pick the coolest days to go, there is always lots of action around D.C.
Photobucket

President’s Helicopter again.
Photobucket

Yes, it really is THAT ugly! I wonder what it will look like this year.
Photobucket

With the State of Illinois tree. Good ol’ Home Sweet Home!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Cheers to Us. Having some HOT chocolate in downtown D.C. It was PRETTY chilly!

This picture would have been REALLY cool if I wasn’t using a sucky camera. This was pre-professional camera days.
Photobucket

I believe this is the year that we were there so long, and got back to our car (Dad S’s car actually) and it was gone. Well, it was moved, up onto the grass. It FREAKED us out! We got a ticket too. Didn’t realize we couldn’t be parked there after a certain time (right before rush hour). We learned the hard way! I think before that year and since that year, we have taken the train to Downtown D.C. (It’s only about a 30 minute train ride.)

The next day Ric and Frank went to the Art Museum while Emily, Amanda and I went to the National American History Smithsonian. There is a lot of cool stuff there!
Here we have Dorothy’s Ruby Slippers.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Trisha . . . President for the Day . . . Scarey much??!!??
Photobucket

This was the year of our wedding, so I was a little obsessed with all the wedding dresses they had there. Here is a REALLY old wedding dress. So old, that it is almost non-existent.
Photobucket

Read all about it. . .
Photobucket

You can [kinda] see what it looked like here.
Photobucket

And here is another one. A girl after my own heart with a really long train.
I think this old-fashioned dress is gorgeous!!! It was worn by First Lady Cleveland in the 1800’s.
Photobucket

Photobucket

And here we have Oscar the Grouch.
Photobucket

And Fonz’s jacket (and a few other things).
Photobucket

That evening we had dinner at an Irish Pub in Alexandria.
Here is part of our crew. Ric, Mom S. Trish, Amanda, Emily and Frank.
Photobucket

[One of] my new sis and I.
Photobucket

The next day was shopping and Cheeseburger in Paradise. We always hit up Potomac before having dinner at CIP. πŸ™‚
Photobucket

Photobucket

Time to go home. 😦 Ric at the airport in his cool new “biker jacket.”
Photobucket

Well, I would post some from 2004 too, except there weren’t any D.C. trips that year. On the 27th we all got in a huge rental van and road-tripped to New York, NY until Dec. 30th. That was an AWESOME trip. I’ll blog about that one some other time. πŸ™‚

Are you tired of pictures yet? I’M NOT!!!! πŸ™‚

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nikki
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 14:01:22

    hi. I used to be a friend of the family, until Amanda and I sort of had a silent falling out one year (why I’m not really sure). Anyhow, I was in DC recently and was thinking about her, wondering how she was, so googled her name and found your blog. It looks like they are all doing fabulously! Amanda and her mom especially look great! They are so skinny! πŸ˜‰ Anyhow, could you just pass on my well wishes to them all? Thanks!
    Nikki D. (Hicklin now)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

