You’ll Always Hold a Special Place In My Heart!

Christopher, a.k.a. Kissyfer

I just got a call from my husband. . .one that I would have NEVER thought to receive.

A very important person in my life passed away. Ric was at my Mom and Dad’s house helping my Mom put up Christmas lights. He called and says, “Your Mom just left.” I’m thinking, “Yeah, and why are you telling me this – what is your point.” He said, “She just left to go be with Star, Chris just died in a car accident.” Star is my Mom’s best friend, Chris is her son. I thought it was a joke at first. . .but why would he joke about something like that? He wouldn’t!!! Then I kept asking, “Are you sure he died? Are you sure he died?” This can’t be happening. Why? I was JUST talking about and actually in the process of, posting a blog because of stress; work work work. Life is too short for this. It put a lot of things in perspective. He is ONLY 30-years-old. That is how old I am.

Come to find out, it wasn’t a car accident, that is just what my Mom told Ric in hysterics when she was leaving. He was actually at work and had a ladder in his hand. It either was about to fall or he moved it or something, and it hit some telephone wires and he was electrocuted.

Chris and I grew up together. He and I have been through a lot together. He was my first “LOVE”. We didn’t really date that long, heck, we were only about 12, so it wasn’t like we were really “dating”. Since our childhood, he has turned into more of a brother than anything. We didn’t go to the same school. As a matter of fact, we went to two schools that were very near each other and were actually “arch rivals.” We would always “fight” about whose school was better. Triad or Highland? When he was off school for something that we weren’t, I would tell him that it wasn’t fair and vice versa. We would always kid about things like that. When we went to the Highland Pool together, him and a friend of his would pull me around the pool by my leg and torment me. He was so good at that! Kinda like we were brother and sister. And, the one thing that he HATED, was when I called him Kissyfer! But I still did it. . .all the time!!!

Chris was a Daddy to Be; the baby shower was NEXT Sunday. Chris’s b-day is in less than a month (December 3rd), he was going to be 31. I used to always kid that he was “older than me.” It was about 10+ years ago that we got a call about David, Chris’s big brother. He was in a car accident, the car went up in flames and David was burned beyond recognition. This is Star’s SECOND son she has lost. My heart ACHES for her!!!! This makes no sense!

It kills me to say this, but I haven’t seen Kissyfer since the day of my wedding. 11/12/05
I think I should have made it more of an effort to see him at least one time since then. Now, the only time that I’m going to be able to see him again is at his funeral. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? He can’t be gone. This has to be a nightmare. . .I must wake up!

Photobucket

Though you won’t get to meet your child, I know that you’re going to be watching down on him/her while he/she grows up. I know that you would have been an awesome Daddy!

I think you should go to that special place above and be with your big brother.

Kissyfer, you will ALWAYS hold a special place in my heart!!! I will miss you.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cecilia
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 19:54:29

    Oh no! That is an awful story. A parent should never have to bury their child, much less two. And his baby to be. I have tears in my eyes. I will keep you all in my prayers.

    Reply

  2. Carmina
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 19:55:29

    Oh my gosh, I am sooooo sorry that this has happened. I know nothing that I can say can really help right now. But my thoughts & prayers are with you at this horrible time.

    Reply

  3. Brea
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 19:55:29

    I am soooooo sorry Trisha! My heart breaks for you. Lots of prayers for my family to yours! If you need anything, anything at all, just let me know! ::big hugs::

    Reply

  4. Angie
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 19:55:48

    I have tears in my eyes too. It’s so unfair. That poor family. I’m so sorry Trish.

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 21:22:16

    I am so sorry to hear this. What a horrible thing! I will keep everyone in my thoughts. Let me know if you need anything.

    Reply

  6. Maria
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 10:15:51

    I am so sorry Trisha! Everyone is in my prayers. 😦

    Reply

  7. Amanda
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 13:15:32

    How awful. My heart goes out to you and his family.

    Reply

  8. Morissa
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 11:58:15

    I wish I could reach out and give you a hug right now. I am just now getting around to reading your blog. I am so sorry for your loss. My heart and my prayers go out to you and his poor family. How incredibly heartbreaking that this little girl will never know her father.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

