Honeymoon 2005 ~ Day 1

November 13, 2005

I made one of these for each of the days we were there, just with a short explanation of what we did each day. I’m SO glad that I did. . .I don’t know if I would have been able to remember each and every small detail if I hadn’t done this.
Photobucket

The [VERY early] morning after our wedding, Ric and I had to get up around 4:15 a.m. to get in the car and head to the airport. I can remember the hustle and bustle of getting our stuff out of our hotel room, running it down to Mom and Dad’s hotel room and meeting up with Mom S. at the car, because she chose many many months before the wedding that she wanted to drive us to the airport. How sweet is that?! So we get to the car after saying goodbye to Mom and Dad J. and head to the airport.

I can remember being on 64, close to East St. Louis, and seeing the Arch it the distance, and Ric says, “So, do you want to know where we’re going?” I had NO idea. The honeymoon was planned, paid for, etc. by Ric. He did EVERYTHING. How sweet is that?! Of course, I said yes, I would love to know. He said, “We’re getting on a plane to Miami, FL and then we’re getting on a cruise ship. We’re going to be stopping in San Juan, Puerto Rico; St. Thomas and St. Maarten.” SWEEEEEEET, a tropical honeymoon. Just what EVERY wife wants for their honeymoon!! See how lucky I am?!
Photobucket

Photobucket

We get to the airport fly to Miami. . .
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

. . .and head straight to the cruise ship.
Photobucket

Although it was pretty cold when we left IL that morning, it was extremely HOT waiting in the LONG line to get onto the cruise ship. We met a bunch of other couples that were married the day before also, which was awesome. I had never been on a cruise before. . .so it was definitely an experience of a lifetime!

Photobucket

(Something to remember while looking at these photos. . .this was pre-professional camera days. So some of the pictures aren’t that great!)

This is what you see when you first board the ship. Amazingly beautiful!
Photobucket

I’m pretty sure this was in the elevator, going up to our room.
Photobucket

Looking out towards where you board.
Photobucket

We got to our room and it was AH-mazing!
Photobucket

Here are the obligatory room pictures. We had the coolest room ever. We had a room with a balcony, which was awesome. Ric went all out for our Honeymoon!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had an awesome jacuzzi bathtub!
Photobucket

Just hanging out and looking out towards Miami.
Photobucket

Photobucket

So this is when we called our parents to tell them that we made it to the ship and that we were getting ready to leave Miami in a little while. (There was no photo access after that.) This is also when I talked to my Mom and she let me know that I FORGOT MY MAKE-UP. During all the hustle and bustle of getting my dress out of our room and to my parents’ room, I picked up the dress with my make-up bag and when I set it down, I set down my make-up bag also. Some girls would have FREAKED. . .but I wasn’t too worried about it. I waited until we left Miami and they opened up the duty free shops and bought a few things. Then when we were in San Juan, we LUCKILY found a Walgreens and I bought a few more things there that I needed. I was on my honeymoon, who needed make-up anyway?! ha
Photobucket

After checking out our room, we went back out to the “Lido Deck” to grab a few drinks and check out more of the ship.

Yes, I did leave my tiara on. . .in hopes that we would get some upgrades. I sure did get a lot of comments and lots of stares, and one little girl that asked her Mommy if I was “a princess.” It was great! I ended up taking it out later that evening when Ric let me know that I had some “white icky stuff” in my hair. (hairspray chunks) He said, “I think you need to wash your hair.” So I did (planned on doing that anyway.)
Photobucket

Photobucket

The awesome waterslides on board.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Inside the main lobby area. Pretty chandelier.
Photobucket

Before we could leave port, everyone had to attend a mandatory life drill meeting thingie (that was their technical terms, NOT – ha), where we had to take the life vest out of our room and do a few drills. (You can barely see us because of our reflectors. ha)
Photobucket

Then it was time to start leaving Miami and heading to the islands.
The beautiful Miami skyline.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Ric hanging out on our balcony. (This was obviously before he quit smoking! :D)
Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m not quite sure what this is. . .I think it is a picture of the elevator or something.
Photobucket

Between all of that, Ric and I went back to our room and took a MUCH NEEDED nap. After being up past 1:30 the night before and having to get up around 4:15 to leave for the honeymoon, we were EXHAUSTED!

Then it was time to get ready for dinner. I had to get Ric in our AWESOME jacuzzi bathtub. Did you know that you’re not supposed to put bath bubbles in this type of tub? Well, I didn’t. . .and I made a MESS!!! haha
Photobucket

Before dinner the first night.
Photobucket

This was that night after dinner at the “Welcome Aboard Show.” I was excited that they had these kinds of awesome shows each and every night. I thought the curtains were so pretty. ha
Photobucket

These dolphins were on the ceiling in the auditorium.
Photobucket

Dancing
Photobucket

Can you see “Funship Freddy?”
Photobucket

That was day one.

I hope that I’m able to do this the rest of the week and post each day, day by day.
Come back later for more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

