Three Years

Well, here we are. THREE years later. Yesterday was Ric and I’s three year anniversary.

If you read this post, you know that I now work across the street from the church we got married. Tuesday I caught myself a few times in a daze, staring out of my window at the church, wishing I could re-live it ALL over again!!! Yesterday at 2:00 I looked over at the church and remembered I was standing with Dad at that very moment, about to walk down the aisle to Ric.

It was such an AWESOME, fantastic, memorable day. I can’t even begin to describe how amazing of a day it was. I just don’t even know how to describe it. Ric and I united as one, married and in love.

A recap of the day.
The night before my two sibblings and I all stayed at Mom and Dad’s. Sis and I shared the king sized bed in the spare room. That morning we woke up to Mom with the camcorder in our face, telling us to get up because it was my wedding day. I quickly showered and we made our way to the salon, which was in the town Mom and Dad live in/I grew up in. Mom, Sis, Flower Girl Carly, Jr. Bridesmaid Cheyenne and I all got our hair done. We don’t have any pictures from the salon, but we do have a lot of cute video. My Mom talking about Baby Take a Bow (the theme of my life), and other things from when I was a kid. After we were done at the salon, Mom and I had to go to the bank to get a copy of my birth certificate notarized so that I was able to go on my honeymoon. (I didn’t have a passport at the time.) It was crazy walking into the bank with my hair done, tiara on and veil in. I felt like such a princess! ha Time to go back to Mom and Dad’s. Our photographers were there waiting for us. We did a quick make-up run, so that I could get a few pictures done at Mom and Dad’s.
Photobucket

This is with my favorite doll from when I was a little girl. Mom went and grabbed it real quick and I looked up for a quick picture.
Photobucket

Mom has a picture like this with her Mom on her wedding day, so we decided to recreate it.
Photobucket

Helping Dad get ready.
Photobucket

After pictures there, Mom and I headed to the church. As we were arranging the dress in the back of Mom’s van, this leaf blew in Mom’s hair, and just stuck there. To us it was the FUNNIEST thing that we had ever seen. I can remember just standing there and laughing and laughing and laughing. . .while Michelle and Alisha took pictures. (I’m sure they thought we were crazy.) I don’t think I have ever laughed so hard in my life.
Photobucket

Photobucket

As we were heading to the church, we had to make a stop by Ric and I’s apartment because I. . . .FORGOT THE RING. OOPS!!! It is a GOOD thing that Ric and I lived so close to the church and we had to pass right by there to get to the church anyway. Who forgets the grooms ring???!!!

Back to the church to finish getting ready.
Photobucket

This is what guys do while the women are hard at work getting ready. Chillin’ and not stressed at all. I just love this picture of Ric!
Photobucket

I got my make-up (re) done by my sister-in-law, got the dress on and got ready.
Photobucket

Then it was time for Ric and I to meet. We decided to meet before the actual ceremony because our first photographer talked us into it and we stuck with our decision. I am SO glad that we did, I think it was one of the best decisions we made ALL day!!! We set it up so Ric was at the altar, with his back towards me, I walked down the aisle to him and the only other people in the room were the photographers and videographers. We got to have a moment to ourselves, without the hustle and bustle and the tons of people staring at us. We totally blew tradition out the window when we decided to do that, but unlike people who wait to see each other, we got to have our own special moment. It was amazing. Then we did some family pictures and some miscellaneous pictures and then it was time to go back and hide in the “closet” to wait for the guests to arrive and for 2:00 to roll around.

Dad and I had our special moment before walking down the aisle.
Photobucket

Then it was time to go back down the aisle to see my (future) husband. Even though we got the opportunity to meet each other before the actual ceremony, we still had our “moment” when walking down the aisle with Dad. It was great! This is the sequence as I was walking down to Ric.
Trisha = happy and SMILEY Ric = SOOO sweet, he was so emotional!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we had the ceremony, we got married, had our first kiss, did communion, all that good stuff. . .
Photobucket

Our unity candle, which I LOVE.
Photobucket

. . .and then were announced as Mr. and Mrs. Richard Seelen. That was an amazing feeling also!

Ric and I chose to release the pews, rather than doing a receiving line. Which was another good decision on our part, as the guests didn’t have to stand in line and wait to greet us. . we stood at the end of the pews, got to hug and talk to each guest for a few seconds and then everyone went outside to wait for us.

Now, a few weeks before the wedding one of my dreams was crushed. A few months before the wedding Mom had found a white pumpkin horse drawn carriage that we rented. Well, just a few weeks before the company that owned it sold it and they were no longer offering it. I can remember crying – I know it was trivial, but that was one thing I wanted. Well, when we walked out of the church after releasing each pew, I can remember getting extremely excited because there waiting for us was a horse drawn carriage. After everyone blew their bubbles at us. . .
Photobucket

. . .we got in the carriage and took a little ride around the block so that we had some time to spend alone, and while the guests left the church.
This is one of my favorites also, because it is just so US!! This is Ric’s silly “kissy face.”
Photobucket

Photobucket

We went back to church to get some formal pictures.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Us with our new parents. 😀
Photobucket

Then it was time to get on the “party trolley”.
A favorite from the on the trolley.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I have never had so much fun in my life! Don’t try to walk on those things when the driver is trying to accelorate. This might happen!
Photobucket

We got on the trolley, and first stop was the apartment to say hi to the kitties.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we headed to downtown St. Louis to get some pictures taken in Kiener. Because it was November, we started losing light early. We took a few pictures outside the old Courthouse (one of my favorites of the whole day), and then went to Union Station to take a few with the Christmas lights that were already lit up.
This is one of my favorite pictures of the whole day.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our fun bridal party picture.
Photobucket

This is my second favorite from the day. On the steps of the Old Courthouse.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Silly, but this is another favorite.
Feet pic

Photobucket

Outside of Union Station. Beautiful Fall leaves. This is why I LOVE Fall!
Photobucket

Then it was time to take a break from pictures and have a few drinks at Maggie O’Briens. When it was time to head back to the Sheraton in Fairview Heights for the reception, we all piled back into the trolley. On the way back from downtown St. Louis, we had the greatest time every in the trolley. Dancing and just having a great ol’ time.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we arrived at the reception. Shortly after arriving, we were all announced. . .
(I chose to leave my dress unbustled for this part, because I loved it so much!)
Photobucket

. . and started dinner. It was then that I walked over and saw my AMAZING, AWESOME cake. I didn’t want to choose my cake, so I left all the details in Mom’s hands. (As I did with a LOT of details of the day – it was the most stress FREE wedding planning ever!) I walked over and had never seen anything quite as amazing in my life!!! This is what I saw!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Ric’s pretty groom’s cake.
Photobucket

Before everyone was totally finished with dinner, our Love Story, that our AWESOME videographers made, was shown on a large screen. I plan on posting that sometime tonight or tomorrow. Apparently it was quite hilarious!
Photobucket

After dinner the girls and I went back out to the lobby to do our bustles and take a few silly pictures. I got all of them slippers that look like feet. I didn’t want anyone to be uncomfortable while we were shaking our booties! 🙂
Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we all bustled each other’s trains (the BM dresses had small trains on them also).
It’s our “train train.”
Photobucket

Then it was time to have a few pictures in our “pumpkin carriage” that was in the lobby as you walked into the ballroom. All decorating was done by my Mom and Jeff at Grimm & Gorley.
Photobucket

Then we cut the cake.

After we finished up with that it was time to start the dancing.
Ric and I danced to “Can’t Help Falling in Love” by Elvis.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Daddy and I danced to “Because You Loved Me” by Celine Dion.
Photobucket

Ric and his Mom danced to “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban.
Photobucket

We then did a dance with the wedding party, for the life of me I can not remember the song. I’m tempted to guess that it was “Find a Friend in Me” from the Toy Story soundtrack. I can’t believe I am so forgetful!

Then it was time for EVERYONE to shake their booties. I don’t think the dance floor was empty the ENTIRE night! That is the ONE thing I really wanted at my wedding, was for everyone to have an awesome time, and I have never heard from people “that was the most fun wedding I have ever been too” so many times! Such a great feeling!
Photobucket

Ric won a few of these Elvis glasses at Dave and Busters a few weeks before the wedding. Three days before the actual wedding he decided to go back and get enough for all of the groomsmen. Later in the evening they all came out with these on. It was hilarious!
Photobucket

In the middle of our ceremony, my Mom came out on the dance floor and sang a song to me that she made up. It was TOO cute!!!!
Photobucket

Here are some more details that I want to show off.
Our signature mat.
Photobucket

Our ice sculpture. That is supposed to be a glass slipper.
Photobucket

Chocolate fountain and stuff to go along with it.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Table settings and decorations. And our cool menu.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our candy table. The candy was 90% gone by the time we (and the photographer) got to the reception, it was a hit!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Our awesome headtable “back drop”.
Photobucket

Lobby
Photobucket

The dance floor was full all evening long, our DJ even decided to stay an extra hour so that we could continue having fun! At around midnight the lights came on and I was SHOCKED that it was already that late, as the day went by SOOOO fast! (unfortunately) Luckily all we had to do was go up a couple floors to our hotel room at the Sheraton. First we stopped in a friend’s hotel room and had a little after party with a few people in our wedding party. It was TOO fun!

I have to say there is not one thing that I would change about our day.

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY RICKY. I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!
Photobucket

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 18:07:22

    You had a gorgeous wedding! I love that bustle picture. LOL!

    Reply

  2. Angie
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 20:26:28

    Happy Anniversary!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

