Halloween Fun

The first year that we were in our apartment, which was 2002, we have had a Halloween party.  This party doesn’t just consist of friends/family coming over and chillin’ and having a good time. . .it also consists of a scavenger hunt.  The idea of having a scavenger hunt goes all the way back to when I was a kid.  I can remember my Mom and Dad leaving us with G-ma/a babysiter and meeting up with all the couples of my Mom’s sorority (not one of those college sororities, but a woman’s sorority).  They were always all dressed up in their costumes, and I can remember being at home watching a movie and in would rip my Mom and/or Dad (the sorority scav. hunt rules were that couples could not be on the same team).  They would come in the house with a list of stuff that they were on a hunt to find.

So, one day in October of 2002, I got a bright idea that Ric and I should have a party and invite all our friends and have a scavenger hunt as well.  My Mom made up the list and sealed it up in an envelope, so that Ric and I could participate too.  You have 1.5 hours to go all around Belleville, Fairview Heights, etc. to find the stuff on the list.  When time is up, you have to be back at the apartment with your items ON TIME.  If you are even one minute late, you are disqualified.  (And let me tell you, the prizes are AWESOME, so you don’t want to miss out on them!  ha)  Then we tally up the points and the winning group gets its awesome prize.  None other than . . . . . . . .

a bottle of Boones Farm!!!  =D
This is a new tradition as well.  People really do anticipate winning just for their bottle of Boones Farm.  ha

Halloween 2002 was a BLAST!!!!!!  So, we decided that every year we were going to be having our annual Halloween Party/Scavenger Hunt.  The only year that we skipped having it was 2005, which was the year of our wedding, which was not even two weeks after the hunt, so we figured we would be busy with other things.

I can remember our first scavenger hunt, like it was yesterday, and this is one of my most favorite scavenger hunt stories to tell.  One of the items on our list of things we had to bring back was a “Caution – Wet Floor” sign.  Well, one of the other things on the list was a brown paper sack from Jack-N-The-Box, so we stopped there to pick it up.  Well, while we were there, we noticed a “Caution – Wet Floor” sign.  So I proceed to tell the young kid working behind the counter that we were going to “steal” it, but he can’t call the cops on us.  They were cracking up at us.  So they wanted to do all they could to try to help us out finding other things on our list.  I think they helped us find a few more things.  Then it was time to hit the road to hit other places to find other things on the list.  Well, as we were walking out, a friend of the kid working behind the counter is running behind us with one of JITB’s HUGE high chairs screaming, “HEY GUYSSS, do you need one of these???”  We’re like, nope, and even if we did, I don’t know where in the heck we would put it.  ha  It was quite a funny evening!  For weeks after the party, we had at least five “Caution – Wet Floor” signs in our basement.  Yeah, that is the one downfall of having this at our place. . .we get left all the JUNK when people leave.

I’m not sure what year it was, but one of the years we started adding a photo scavenger hunt included with our list of things to find.  For instance: A kiss on the cheek from a Hooters worker or a picture of at least three members of your group in a shopping cart, etc.

Last year was quite a year with photo scavenger hunt items.
Here are a few pictures from that.
(Last year my group consisted of Chris, Cindy, Christi, Paul and I)
A picture of at least three people from your group in a cart.
Photobucket

This is a picture from one of the other groups. (BTW: That is my PREGNANT (at the time) BFF in the bottom of that shopping cart. She must be flexible.)
Photobucket

A picture of your whole group in a pyramid.
Photobucket

Another group.
Photobucket

A picture of your whole group in front of a McDonald’s sign. These are tricky because people sometimes don’t realize it says THE WHOLE GROUP, and don’t have the whole group in it, so they don’t get the points. You have to know how to work your timer on your camera. 😉
Photobucket

Another group.
Photobucket

One of the list items was to bring back a menu from a restaurant, and you got bonus points if you got a picture of one of your team members stealing it. Paul doing the dirty work.
Photobucket

A picture of two people in your group with construction cones on their head.
Photobucket

A picture of three people in your group in front of a real estate sign.
Photobucket

A picture of four people in your group doing the conga in a parking lot.
Photobucket

A picture of one person in your group “praying to the porcelin God” in a public restroom. (We were in Arby’s.) (I think I remember that if you got a stranger to point and laugh while you did it, it would be extra points. Though, looks like we didn’t do that.)
Photobucket

A picture of one person in your group acting like a dog and “peeing” on a fire hydrant.
Photobucket

A picture from a different group. (This is my little sis.)
Photobucket

A picture of one person in your group proposing to a stranger.
A picture from a different group.
Photobucket

A picture of one person in your group tying a stranger’s shoe.
Photobucket

A picture of two people in your group mocking a street sign.
Photobucket

A picture of one person in your group giving a stranger a piggy back ride.
If it is a girl group member giving a guy stranger a piggy back ride, you got a few extra points.
Photobucket

For the life of me, I can’t remember what was on the list for a picture like this. . .I think it had something to do with a “stranger’s underwear”. But this was too funny NOT to post. ha
Photobucket

Now, here are just some general pictures from the party, after the scavenger hunt.
I loved Ric and Peter’s costume last year. They were Gilligan and Skipper. (Ric has a pillow in his shirt and died his hair gray. Now I know what he’ll look like in about 20 years. haha)
Photobucket

Here’s Paul and I. (I call him “Hottie Paul”. ha)
Photobucket

“Brown Man” and I.
Photobucket

These guys have been coming to our party since the beginning. (Sso have a lot of others, but this is the ONLY time throughout the year we see most of these guys! They just “use us” for our awesome party!)
Photobucket

Ricky and I. (I was lame last year and just dressed up as a cat. I ran out of time.)
Photobucket

Silly Aimee and Ric
Photobucket

Our friend Chad was a “snake charmer”. This is just evidence that later in the night the party gets a little wild! He’s so crazy!
Photobucket

Ummm, yeah. . . Like I said. . .
Photobucket

2002
These fun pictures are going all the way back to 2002, the first year we had the party.
Our friend Jim is an awesome costume making, drawer, costume creator, etc. (Obviously, look at this awesome costume that he MADE.)
Photobucket

Ric was Elvis that year.
Photobucket

Elvis and Elvis (the cat).
Photobucket

A small group photo.
Photobucket

The scary guy was scaring me.
Photobucket

We’re doing the “time warp.”
Um, check out my AWESOME pants – WOW, am I sad I don’t still have those. LOL
(This was the year that I was LAME and didn’t dress up.)
Photobucket

2003
Here are a few from 2003.
Peter
Photobucket

Amber (Flapper) and I (50s girl).
Photobucket

One of my sister’s friends and I.
Photobucket

Tonya (Miss Congeniality) and I.
Photobucket

This was the one year that Ric and I did matching costumes.
Me in my poodle skirt and him dressed in his rolled up jeans and white T-shirt.
Notice his T-shirt is soaking wet. . .this was the year we bobbed for apples. 😉
Photobucket

Group photo.
Notice my CUTE spider on the ceiling. I can’t find one of those for this year! 😦
Photobucket

My Baby Boy and I. Notice the CUTE poodle skirt that my awesome Mom made for me. And my CUTE “saddle shoes” that I got at Payless. 🙂 (Oh wait, you can’t see the saddle shoes.)
Photobucket

2004
And for 2004
This was the year that we started the photo scavenger hunt.
A picture of three people from your group with the fountain in Belleville.
Photobucket

A picture of your WHOLE group in front of the Maxwell’s sign.
Photobucket

A picture of your whole group in front of the Lincoln Theatre sign.
Photobucket

A picture of two members of your group in front of a McDonald’s sign (sound familiar?).
Photobucket

Not quite sure what is going on here.
Photobucket

Just a few general pictures.
Here is our neighbor Jesse and his girlfriend (at the time).
Their costumes were so cool!
(Note: See the spider again. . .I just loved that thing!)
Photobucket

Sister and I. Yes, I was a cat this year also.
Photobucket

Mario and Luigi.
Photobucket

Ric and Don – wrestling guys.
Photobucket

The second year of apple bobbing.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Aimee and I.
That year we both showed up as black cats. Totally unplanned.
Photobucket

2005
Again, 2005 was the year we skipped the party for the wedding.

2006
Pictures from 2006.
First we start with the very FEW photo scavenger hunt pictures that I have.
A picture of a guy in your group with at least one Hooters girl.
Photobucket

A picture of at least four people from your group in the pool on 159. The most creative picture gets extra points. I think this is the group that won that challenge. ha
Photobucket

This was the year that my BFFs Tonya, Aimee and I grouped up with Peter for the coolest costumes ever. We were Barbie and the Rockers. Tonya was Barbie, Peter was Ken, Aimee was Dana and I was Diva. It was awesome. This year the four of us are doing group costumes again, but I’m not telling what yet, you can find out after the party!
Barbie and the Rockers.
Photobucket

Paul
Photobucket

A group photo.
Photobucket

The girls of Barbie and the Rockers. LOVE our make-up. ha
Photobucket

I loved my eyelashes that night.
Photobucket

Ric and Katie – wrestling people again.
Photobucket

Leah looked SO cute that year!
Photobucket

The Rockers again.
Photobucket

Mike being. . .well. . .Mike! ha
Photobucket

This year is our 6th year. Every year it gets bigger and better! I can’t wait until November 1, for our 2008 scavenger hunt. This year we chose to do the party on the day after Halloween because Halloween is on a Friday and if we do it ON Halloween I’m scared that a few of our crazy guests will run over little trick-or-treaters, with as crazy as we get!

If anyone is interested in coming this year. . .just e-mail me for some more information. 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yara
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 23:35:08

    You guys know how to PAR-TAY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

