Ridiculousness. . .

I may have just made that word up myself. . .not quite sure though.

So. . .I haven’t been on STLWed in a long time, I hardly ever go on there anymore, just because I don’t really have the time anymore. (This job is a LOT more stressful than the last place.)

Anyway, so I get on only to find this PM from the “power tripping” Administrator. . .

The following is a warning which has been issued to you by an administrator or moderator of this site.
This is a warning regarding the following post made by you: viewtopic.php?f=9&p=200116#p200116 .

This violates the forum rules for vendor brides:
1) Vendors who happen to also be brides are welcome here as long as they keep their business and their wedding separate.
2) Vendor/Brides are not allowed to give out professional advice or self promote on the boards. When a bride wants a professional opinion she will post it on the Q&A vendor boards for technical answers from the experts, so giving your pro advice is not wanted or needed in the “brides only” boards. Remember they are called brides only boards – no pros allowed – when you spend time on the brides only board it is because you are there to plan your wedding, you are NOT there to do anything related to your business.
5) If you happen to read posts about your business (or your field) on any board, you must keep out of it (don’t post replies).

This was in regards to the post made by “redroses.”
She posted about places to get albums made.

Beckie then posted that she loves her album from Zookbinders.
Oh, Oh, Oh Me! Our album has hard pages with the pictures in the pages. It was done by Zookbinders. We LOVE our album!

So in response I say:
Ditto this place. They’re awesome!

After letting Admin know that the reason I posted that they’re so awesome is because that is who my photographer from THREE YEARS AGO used for our album, which I also happen to think is AMAZING, this is the response I get:
I understand your interpretation of the rules, but that’s not the way they were intended. The problem is that I have asked vendor brides not to reply to any posts related to their field. I understand that you were just posting about the album you got from Alisha. However since some brides may know you shoot weddings, any advice you give related to photography will make those brides question your motives… that could effect your business and the forum positively or negatively, but either way it’s best not to go there.

The rules state:
If you happen to read posts about your business (or your field) on any board, you must keep out of it (don’t post replies). Getting involved can make your business look bad so it’s just not a good idea – even when you have the best of intentions.
This doesn’t just mean you can’t post about things from your perspective as a vendor, it means you can’t post in any photography related thread simply because you are a photographer.

Hopefully that clears up the misunderstanding. It’s the same rule/interpretation I’ve applied to other vendor/brides and I have to apply it the same way to everyone to avoid playing favorites.

HELLO. . .I didn’t write that someone’s pictures were hideous because their photographer didn’t have them in focus, doesn’t know what depth of field is, etc. (“Expertise” from a photographer.) I stated that my album was awesome, and this is a good place to get your albums from. I guess if I think your wedding photos that STLWedders post are awesome I’m not allowed to post that either.

So, I’m not over re-acting, I promise. I’m not mad, I just think it is ridiculous.

I have talked to others before and I’m definitely NOT the only one who gets aggravated by the “power trippiness”. . . (I made that word up too. ha)

So girls, if you are in a field that has to do with weddings, don’t respond to ANY posts, even if it has to do with who YOU used as a vendor. . .otherwise you will get the, oh so lovely *WARNING* message! 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristal
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 16:39:10

    I’ve gotten that warning. More than once. And I agree with “power trip” and “ridiculousness”. I’ll also add “favoritism” to that list. 😉

    Reply

  2. Beckie
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 19:20:51

    She seriously did that? I am so over that board! I am really starting to hate many people on there for that reason. I am so sorry, she drives me insane.

    Reply

  3. Cecilia
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 20:05:25

    That is really crappy!!! I’m sorry that happened. Well, since we aren’t on that board…….I’m looking at getting a new camera. I am not very savvy currently, but I would like to learn more. What camera/cameras would you suggest for me???? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Brea
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 20:45:49

    Your not the only one who has received this warning 😦

    That is ridiculous and I won’t apologize for my opinion on that. Completely ridiculous and it’s PM’s like these that make so many users want to leave the board and or just post less.

    It’s no secret we have all discussed this issue at G2G’s and I’m sure the Mod knows everyone’s feelings and possibly just refuses to bend on this issue. It’s her board and she has put a lot of time and effort into it and I guess we have to respect her rules. Frankly it’s just bad for the board to be treating members like that. You have been there since the VERY beginning. She should know what your intentions were and that you weren’t overstepping any bounds.

    Reply

  5. Aimee
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 21:01:55

    I’ve received that a few times. I was just trying to help brides out who asked about suggestions for songs for processional, etc. I never made any kind of comment about certain types of musicians to handle or anything. I’m not allowed to post about anything related to music. I’m just trying to be helpful, like you were!

    Reply

  6. Jennelle
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 06:09:49

    That IS ridiculousness! There’s so many RULES on there all of a sudden. It makes me angry. 😦

    Reply

  7. Brigid
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 08:31:07

    I got that warning as well when I was on there and that is one reason that I left. You were commenting on albums, not on photography. I think this would fall into the album designer catrgory than the photographer and it is a tad out of hand.

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 09:21:23

    There seems to be a lot of this going around lately. That’s crazy that you got that PM and you were talking about your own album that was made by another photographer. That doesn’t seem like self-promotion to me AT ALL.

    Reply

  9. Morissa
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 10:35:33

    This is the reason that I stopped going to that board. That and the fact that someone was trying to fish info out of me so they could steal my business. Good thing I have loyal brides (you know who you are) that e-mailed me the moment something came up about me. Otherwise I would have fallen for the line of crap frequently given out over there.
    I am glad you are not mad or upset, just more proof that you are a way bigger person than I. I was PISSED.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

