SURPRISE. . .

. . .or not so much!!

So, Saturday evening was my “surprise” 30th b-day party, which was planned and put on by my Mom and my Husband. Mom did all the cooking and hosted the party at her house (after a full day of delivering wedding cakes Saturday morning/day).

The reason that SURPRISE is in quotes is because it really wasn’t a surprise. Well, they tried, but I ruined it. And let me tell you, and you can ask a few co-workers for proof also, I “BEAT myself up” for it pretty bad for a long time!!! I LOVE surprises, and when they’re ruined, especially by myself, that just sucks! 😦 I was picking up Peter’s mail because he was out of town, and I noticed the invite in the mail with Mom and Dad’s return address. I knew there was a party, we talked about it, only that it was going to be on the 27th. When she asked me what kind of “theme” I wanted, well, I didn’t really know. I told her to pick. So I was just peaking in the invite to see which ones she chose. Well, that was the DUMBEST idea ever!!! What I saw at that moment was “20th” and “Surprise”. I thought SH!T, I just ruined it!!!!!” I honestly CRYED myself to sleep that night, because of how bad I felt, not to mention how much I love surprises! Like Forest said, “Stuff happens!”

Oh well. . .at least I knew to dress up. . .and I looked pretty cute, if I do say so myself. πŸ˜‰

So, on with the pictures.

My sister decided that Pointfest was more important than me that night, so she couldn’t make it, so to make up for it she made me the COOOLEST b-day cake ever! She sure does get her talent from Mom!! (Yes, she does wedding cakes for those still looking. πŸ˜‰ )
Photobucket

Photobucket

The cake table. Notice the “cake” to the right. That is the “cake” that my Mother-in-Law sent me (it’s actually a flower arrangement in the shape of a cake) because she couldn’t be there (again, they live in VA/D.C.). So, she had these delivered to my parents’ house and waiting for me when I arrived that night. Aren’t they ADORABLE?!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Just some decor. (Yes, I was the photographer at my own party. ha)
Photobucket

Mom said that Zach, Jeff’s son/flower arranger from Grimm & Gorley, (they’re good family friends) sent this home with her for my b-day. Isn’t he the sweetest?!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Mom got me a DJ. Here’s DJ Jeremy.
Photobucket

Mom cuddling with Cupcake. Isn’t she the cutest.
She was pretty cuddly because she has had a rough few weeks (more on that later).
Photobucket

People mingling.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Baby B even made it to my birthday party! Here he is with his Mama (my BFF).
Photobucket

Baby B and I
Photobucket

Baby B is thirsty! haha
Photobucket

Photobucket

Only half of the family. The other girls were at Grandma’s house!
Photobucket

Ric being goofy.
Photobucket

The picture I was TRYING to get before Ric stuck his head in there. ha
Photobucket

Time to blow out the candles. That sure is a lot of fire. Glad we didn’t burn the place down!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Looks more like I’m kissing the cake. ha
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Present time.
I made out pretty good. Lens and stuff that you read about here a while ago from Mom and Dad.
From friends I got gift cards to Chili’s, Olive Garden, Target, Creve Coeur Camera and Walgreens (to use when I print out pictures, because I have only about 6413248 on-line that I need printed.) I also got a BEAUTIFUL personalized/engraved frame from my BFF Tonya, which meant SO much to me! As well as another awesome Friends frame from Katie. And, as you read in my last post, I got a trip to Niagara Falls from my Mother-in-Law and my hubby, which I CAN’T WAIT for!

All these pictures are courtesy of “photographer Peter.”
I think he did a great job. πŸ™‚

Pretty wrapping!
Photobucket

Obviously, this one is from Ric. (Since he is the only one that calls me that. LOL)
Photobucket

Photobucket

Mid-sentence.
Photobucket

I was having fun!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

My beautiful engraved frame from Things Remembered, from Tonya.
Photobucket

Awesome frame from Katie.
Photobucket

Just watchin’.

There’s Cupcake. I don’t think Mom put her down the whole time!
Photobucket

Apparently we were boring. (No really, it was a little past his bedtime.)
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Everyone loved Cupcake. She was pretty popular.
Colleen and Cupcake. Robbie, her husband, made a point to let her know that this was as close as she was ever going to get to “having another one.” (Child that is). They have three, all under the age of 5-years-old. They definitely have their hands full!
Photobucket

Christi and Cupcake. Notice Cupcake’s CUTE dress.
Photobucket

Not only was Cupcake entertaining, but so was Baby B. Everyone was lovin’ on him. He sure does love the ladies. A bunch of the ladies were playing with him at one point in the night, and then they had walked away from them. Someone walked over to them with him in their arms, he saw the ladies, and made this little giggle, like “Haha, there’s my ladies.” It was the CUTEST thing ever!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Why Ric. . .are you trying to tell me something?! πŸ˜‰
Photobucket

One of my goals for the night was getting a picture with each of my guests. I love these kinds of memories. These are all courtesy of “photographer Peter” again. πŸ™‚

Let me introduce to you all my special friends and family who make me feel so loved!
(I know there are others, that did have logical excuses for not being there!! I’m an understanding person, I promise!)

Grammy and I
Photobucket

My BFF from grade school. I haven’t seen her since my wedding (almost three years ago), but when we do get to see each other, we just continue where we left off, like we saw each other just the other day! I’m so glad that she made it, I have been missing her! 😦
Photobucket

Here we are with Neal. . .(he’s actually an ex of mine, my “first love”. . .we’re just good friends now.)
Neal’s parents were there before I showed up (people we waiting about 45 minutes for me to show up), and they had to head out before I got there. 😦 (Neal’s Mom, who I call Mom, isn’t doing so well, so she couldn’t make it down the steps to where everyone was, and she wasn’t feeling well. She just had a heartattack and was diagnosed with Parkinson’s a few weeks prior.) 😦
Photobucket

Again, Ric’s always getting in the way! ha
Photobucket

My best friend Tonya. I don’t get to see her as much as I used to, only because she has two jobs now, and so much going on also, but we’re still BFFs, and it just makes the time that we DO get to see each other special and lots more to talk about.
Photobucket

Tonya, myself and my other BEST Friend Forever Colleen. Colleen and I are extremely close. I love her WHOLE family (well, except that hubby of hers. . .haha, JUST kidding!). I claim her children as my neices and nephew. I get to see them at least once every other week, if not more (depending on the stuff going on). I just LOVE being with the whole family, and LOVE my BFF!!
Photobucket

Kelly, Kathy, myself and Stephanie. I made the comment right after this picture that, “I only like these ladies five days a week.” Of course, I’m JUST kidding, but its because they’re three of my favorite co-workers, whom I love so much!
Photobucket

Christi and I. Ric and I met Christi through Peter. She is a riot, and ALWAYS the entertainment for the night!! Everyone loves her, and she makes EVERYONE laugh! I mean really, I promise. I don’t know how many people made that comment after she left (Air Force Air Show, so they had to be up early.) That’s her “sippy cup” that Ric brought her back from Vegas, which she brings with her EVERYWHERE. She is a double fister when she drinks. Beer in one hand and water (sippy cup) in the other. This is why Ric picked it out for her, and she is now OBSESSED with it! ha
Photobucket

I can never have too many pictures with Grandma!!!
Photobucket

One of Ric’s closest friends, and a great friend of mine as well, Katie. She is just a great person!
Photobucket

Cindy, myself and Lisa. Lisa and Ric used to work together in the Meat Dept. at Schnucks (Ric left for teaching, Lisa is still there). Lisa and Cindy have become more like a part of our family!!!
Photobucket

Melissa and Chris. We know Chris through our “friend” Eddie (who has since “disappeared” out of our lives). But that doesn’t stop Ric and Chris from being friends (thankfully). Chris just married Melissa a few months ago in Cape Cod. Even though Eddie “disappeared” we’re glad to still be able to call this great couple our friends!!! πŸ™‚
Photobucket

I wanted a picture of just Melissa and I!
Photobucket

Robbie and Colleen. You’ve already read all about Colleen and how she is the best BFF ever. Well Robbie, her husband, is a great friend of ours too! Day by day, Robbie and Ric become closer also, which is just awesome!
Photobucket

They were making a “Trisha Sandwich”. haha
Photobucket

Peter and I. If you read my blog regularly, you have read a lot about Peter (Iraq). If you’re not aware, Peter is our neighbor and one of our best friends. He’s such an awesome guy!
First I was TRYING to gag because of the Cubs jersey, but he wouldn’t let me.
Photobucket

Peter and I being pretty.
Photobucket

Trying to gag at the Cubs jersey again.
Photobucket

Of course, we can’t forget Cupcake, my new baby “Sister.”
Photobucket

Mom and I. Again, she is so awesome for doing this for me and making this evening so special for me! Even after her hard day of work! (Please notice the awesome frame above our heads – courtesy of moi!! :D)
Photobucket

Mom, myself and Dad. The BEST parents that anyone could ask for.
Photobucket

And last, but definitely not least, my awesome hubby! Whom I LOVE so much!
Photobucket

This was one of the best birthdays that I have ever had. And I have all my closest friends and lovely family to thank for that!!!

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carmi
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 13:20:31

    WOW great pics, that was an awesome party!!! I hope my 30th b-day is as fun as yours! You do look HOT, I love your top & necklance. and that cake is sooooo cute, funky, & creative, LOVE it!

    Don’t beat yourself up about figuring out the surprise, it was an honest mistake!

    Reply

  2. Maria
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 14:33:42

    Wow, the pictures really captured the party. Looks like an awesome time!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Katie
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 14:52:51

    Looks like you guys had a great time! That cake is awesome. How did you guys stick candles in fondant like that? My fondant gets a little too hard to stick candles in nicely.

    Reply

  4. Sara
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 21:27:05

    Happy Birthday! LOVE the cake! SOOO CUTE!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Birthday Weekend! « A Day In the Life of a Seelen
  6. Cathlyn (SoonToBeWe-WA)
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 19:42:47

    Trisha,

    Looks like you had a blast. Happy Birthday again girl. Hope you’re doing well. We miss you on WA. I will have to read your blog more often so I know what you’re doing. By the way Cupcake is adorable. Great pictures as always.

    Cathlyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

