Keeping Up Hope

You first heard about this story here.

Here is a little update.

Today I called the phone number that we have for this client, to see if I would be able to get a hold of anyone.  I got a hold of her husband (who is also a client).  He first jumped the gun thinking I was calling about the bankruptcy.  This time, I was NOT.  I said, “I have talked to “A” a few times in the past few months regarding what is going on with her.  I was just calling in to check up on her because I knew that her surgery was last week.”  He proceeded to tell me that she went in for the surgery, but first had to have the biopsy.  After receiving the results of the biopsy, they decided to not do the surgery.  Then, the news that I did NOT want to hear. . .”The doctor gives her 6-9 months to live.”  Right then and there, I kind of just stopped; kind of like my world started spinning around.  I didn’t want to hear that news.  That is the saddest news I could have heard.  I let him know that I am still thinking about her (and the family), and to keep me updated, as there are any.

Please, keep this family in your prayers still.  I’m sure they could use them.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brea
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 13:54:58

    Oh Trish I am so sorry. The family is in my thoughts and prayers!

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 14:22:26

    Aww, that is so sad. 😦

    Reply

  3. Maria
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 14:57:37

    😦 They are definitely in my prayers.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 15:39:12

    That is terrible news. One thing about a prognosis is that a doctor really doesn’t know the course of the disease. He/she is relying on averages, usually a median, where half of the people live longer and half live less time. Good for you for doing what you can to help her situation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

