A New Journey

My first night NOT alone, all by myself, etc. Ric has been gone for a week and 2 days. (So it’s our first evening together since then, and here I am blogging. That’s okay though!) 😉

Last Tuesday Ric and I went to Mom and Dad’s to say good-bye to my brother. Its time for him to start a new journey in his life. Moving to Colorado. We’re a pretty close family, and I have never lived further than about 40 miles from Mom, Dad, Sis and Bro, so this was kind of hard on me! That night I left Ric at Mom and Dad’s so that he could help load up the U-Haul and to make the road trip with Dad and Bro to Colorado. (Bro and Ric in the U-Haul and Dad in his car.)

Crested Butted to be specific. (One of my aunts and uncles lives there, so at least he’ll be near SOME family.)

Packing up the U-Haul.

Bye Bye Brother! 😦

They left on Wednesday morning and drove and drove and drove. After getting there and realizing the the house/apartment he was supposed to move into wasn’t going to work out (his bed was bigger than the bedroom), he had a few days to find something else and for Ric, Bro and Dad to do some sight seeing and play LOTS of golf with my Uncle. It wasn’t until Wednesday morning (the 9th) that Ric and Dad made the drive home. Ric arriving home at 3:00 a.m. (but I’m a light sleeper, so I got to say hello when he got home).

Here are a few pictures of the journey.

This is my brother’s pet bearded dragon (I think that is what “brand” he is, ha). This is at the hotel one of the nights on the way to CO. Meet Peeve. . .(My brother’s Pet Peeve. What a clever guy my Bro is!)

This is actually a picture from my aunt and uncle’s back yard. What a view!!

Here is a picture of the little town of Crested Butte, and I do mean LITTLE!
Population: 1,529.
This was at the 4th of July parade (yes, I spent 4th of July here, and he spent 4th of July there – oh well!)

They have a HUGE water fight – the town firefighters vs. the town. Who do you think wins that one every time?!

Just some more scenic pictures of the area. (Yes, that is some snow still up there, which is why I’m not TOO jealous! Winters have to be ROUGH there! I guess Bro will find out in a few months!)

Ric’s rainbow picture.

And this is what Bro, Dad, Ric and Uncle J did a LOT of! I think Ric said they golfed 5 of the days on this trip (one being on the way there in Castle Rock, CO).
Here’s Dad about to swing! (FYI: My family LOVES golf Mom, Dad, Bro (got a golf scholarship to college) and Sis (also got a golf scholarship to college). When Ric met the family, they convinced him to love it also. Even the extended family loves it. I’m pretty sure my brother could go pro! (I’m not just being biased either, I promise!) There is only one person that hates it, and really could care less – ME! ha)

So, good luck on your new journey Brother!!!  We’ll miss you!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 13:36:05

    Wow, what a beautiful place to live! I’m sure you’ll miss your bro a lot but at least you have an excuse to take a vacation out there now!

    Oh, and totally random, but I believe that is the town in Colorado that Heidi from The Hills is from. Don’t know if you’ve ever seen the show but that is where she goes home to! Crazy!

    Reply

  2. Maria
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 15:38:05

    Wow, those pics from Colorado are gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

