A Little Wedding Survey

I was reading through my good friend Kim’s blog (she’s a designHer). 🙂
I found this cute and FUN post about her wedding and thought I would “steal” it and have a little fun of my own! Thanks Futtsy!

We all know how much I love “visuals”. . .so I’m going to have to add some in myself also!
Here we go. . .

1. What month & year were you married?
November 2005

2. How did he ask you?
I had a “PJ Luau party” for my 25th b-day. We were all having a good ol’ time and sitting out on the back patio at our apartment when Ric called us all in the house. Some of us thought we were “in trouble” for being so loud (we were having a good time!). Well, we all came into the living room, I sat on the couch next to a few friends. Ric stood up in front of everyone and gave a speech about how he was “going to wait, but that he couldn’t wait” (my real b-day was 3 days later), and then got down on one knee in front of me, and all our close friends and his sister, and asked me to marry him. I loved that he did it in front of some of our closest friends. It was bittersweet!

3. Where did you honeymoon?
We went on a Caribbean Honeymoon Cruise through Carnival to San Juan, Puerto Rico; St. Thomas; and St. Maarten. It was a first for both of us (cruising), and turned out absolutely awesome!! The honeymoon was a surprise to me. I didn’t know where we were going until 4:00 a.m. the morning after the wedding as we were heading to the airport.

4. Can you still fit in your dress?
Yes, I’m sure I could! 🙂 Though there is no way I would be able to tell because it is boxed up and at Mom and Dad’s house. Mom paid double to have it boxed up too, because she wanted to make sure it came back clean before it was boxed up, so I wouldn’t want to take it out to try!

5. What was the worst gift you got?
I can honestly say that we did not get one bad gift! 🙂

6. What flavor was your wedding cake?
Honestly, I couldn’t tell ya. Didn’t get to choose, the whole cake was a surprise to us.
The only piece we got was the itty bitty piece that we fed to each other also.

7. Were you a bridezilla?
Absolutely, positively the total opposite of a bridezilla. I have Mom to thank for that though!!!
She was absolutely AWESOME. If it weren’t for her, none of this would have been!

8. Whats one thing you would change about your wedding?
There are only a few things I would change, and they only have to do with the decisions that I made on my own. The main one would have to be the dress, I LOVED my dress, though I would have had some “cap sleeves” added to it, if I were to do it all over again. That is pretty much all I would change.

9. Do you still look at your wedding pics?
ALL the time. I see at least one of them either on-line or on the wall at least once a day. I have an awesome photographer to thank for that! The one below I see at least once a day, if not more, because it is the one and only picture that we have had printed out and have hanging on the wall in our living room.

10. What colors did you use?
Fuchsia and black. I LOVED it!

11. Where did you tie the knot?
St. Henry’s Catholic Church, Belleville

12. Whats one funny thing that happened that day?
It was the start of the day actually. My Mom and I were getting in the van to head to Belleville (we were in Highland at the time) to head to the church. We were standing there and this leaf just blew right in my Mom’s hair. Its not really that funny to read about it, but apparently my Mom and I thought it was the FUNNIEST thing ever!!!!!!


13. How many showers did you have?
2. One couples shower in July and one “girlie shower” in August. They were both SO awesome!
Everyone involved did such an awesome job!

14. Did you cry?
Not even once. I was too “in my own little happy bubble.” ha
My husband did a good job of that for me though!
P-R-I-C-E-L-E-S-S!!!


15. Did you give any wedding favors away?
We had a candy buffet. It was more of a “help yourself” favor. Apparently it was a big hit, because by the time we (and the photographer) got to the reception, 98% of the candy was already gone. haha

16. Who caught the flowers and garter?
Ric’s cousin Peggy caught the throw-away bouquet. And my cousin’s son, William, caught the garter.
Thought William was too embarassed to get in the photo, so his younger brother Jake stood in. 🙂

17. Who was your officiant or minister?
Monsignor Voss at St. Henry’s

18. How much was your wedding dress, undergarments and all?
Let’s not go there! ha It wasn’t THAT bad. Especially with the AWESOME seamstress I had, even with all the stuff she had to do when she took in the top of the dress.

19. Was there dancing?
OMG, yes – TONS!!!

Check out my 86-year-old Grandma breaking it down!

20. Where was the reception?
The Fountains at the Four Points Sheraton

21. Would go back and do it over again?
I WISH I COULD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Looking at these pictures, is really making me relive that day and I wish I could do it FOR REAL!!!
I want to go back and do it all again, right now!

22. How long did you have to plan your wedding?
Well, pretty much all my life. ha Mom is in the wedding business, so we had a lot of stuff figured out already. Not really “put in place or reserved” just ideas. But we had officially from 9/25/04-11/12/05.
There was a little glitch with these candybar wrappers my Mom ordered. Mom thought Ric was proposing ON my b-day (the 28th) when really he proposed on the 25th. When she found out, she had to go to the store, buy “ivory-out” (as opposed to “white-out”), pink marker and change all the 8s to 5s. WAY TO GO Ric. haha 😉 (This one is a little messed up, it is quite old by now! ha)

23. What kind of car were you in when you drove away?
We didn’t drive away in a car. When we walked out of the church there was a surprise horse-drawn carriage waiting for us. We hopped in there and rode away in that, just for a short period while the guests were leaving. Then we went back to the church for some more pictures. After pictures at the Church we drove away in a trolley to go to Downtown St. Louis to take some pictures there.

24. How many in your wedding party?
Let’s see. There were a LOT. 23 total people.
We had one maid of honor, one best man, 5 bridesmaids, 5 groomspeople (one was a girl). We had a flower girl and a ring bearer, we had a jr. bridesmaid and a jr. groomsman, a mini-bride and a mini-groom and one “vow keeper.” Oh, and 4 ushers, 3 of which were named Mike.
(Mini-groom is missing, he was not having a happy day.)

25. Did you do anything different in your wedding or reception?
At the reception we played our love story, on a large projector on the wall. It was awesome. I have my awesome videographers to thank for that. If you’d like to watch, you can go here to see that! 🙂
(It was apparently really funny!)

25. Where did you get your rings?
Ric was sent to Lordos Diamonds in Clayton to check out rings there. A friend of his knows the owner. So, that is where he went, along with check out other places, but this is where he ended up getting it. I am proud to say that Ric picked out my ring/wedding set on his own, without me!! He did an awesome job. After getting my engagement ring, I ended up going there to look at rings for him, one of which we both fell in love with but was a little (okay, I mean a LOT) out of our price range. Well, after getting the price down a little and setting up a payment plan, I was able to make it happen. I didn’t know what my band looked like and Ric didn’t know what his band looked like until THAT day when we slipped them on each others’ fingers.

I must say, I’m pretty proud of Ric’s ring, it is awesome. I love showing it off, though he shows it off more than I do! The little diamonds slide back and forth. I did gold and white gold because Ric likes gold and I like/my set is white gold, so I wanted to match at least a little.

I’m also excited that now that we have new furniture (more on that later), I’m going to have a place to put my coffee table album. Its going to go on the new coffee table, what a concept! 🙂
(You can click on the pictures to make them bigger.)

Don’t worry, the weird picture here looks normal in the album.

Leave a Reply

